Traders

The rarer a species the higher the price on the market, resulting in a greater profit for traders.

‘You can purchase all reef fish. The Hawaii ones cost CHF 10 more due to long distance transport’, the Swiss trader told me as I asked for a list of the fish sold.

Trade figures
There is no accurate data because not one, single coral fish species is protected (besides Seahorses and the Napoleon wrasse; its lips are mostly eaten as a delicacy). That is why fish can be traded freely. Estimates by the UNEP/WCMC show that there are enormous discrepancies between import and export numbers. For example, exporters say that 43 % of coral fish came from the Philippines, yet importers claim that they have no information on the origin of 81 % of the fish.

More precise data are only available for stony corals, black corals and tridacna muscles as they can only be sold with CITES import and export papers.

Haendler_A_HoffordThe traders
Most aquarium coral fish traders claim that the trade does not have any detrimental effect on coral fish populations.

This may be true for the biggest coral reef in the world, the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, where fish traders need to buy licenses and access to coral fish is controlled. This is an exception due to the sheer size of this habitat, the dimension of the coral reef and the proportionally small catch size for coral fish. All these contribute to the less vulnerable status of the fish.

After the movie ‘Finding Nemo’, the demand for anemone fish grew enormously. In the coral reef of Eastern Australia so many anemone fish were caught that some populations have still not recovered.

The most common species are normally not that interesting for trading purposes; rare specimens and fish displaying an array of peculiar colours are preferred by traders.

The biggest European trader in the Netherlands praises his animals on his website in the following way: ‘… the animals are imported from 29 different regions across the globe. On a regular basis you will find many very rare and interesting species on our stock list’.

Händler

Je seltener eine Art ist, desto höher der erzielte Preis und damit die Marge für den Händler.

“Alle Riff-Fische sind zu haben. Diejenigen aus Hawaii kosten Fr. 10.- mehr wegen der Transportdistanz”, sagte der Schweizer Händler, als ich ihn fragte, ob er eine Liste der Arten habe, die er verkauft.

Handelszahlen
Genaue Zahlen über den Handel gibt es nicht. Denn kein einziger Korallenfisch ist geschützt (ausser Seepferdchen und der Napoleonlippfisch, dessen Lippen als Delikatesse gegessen werden). So können sie freizügig gehandelt werden. Schätzungen des UNO-Umweltprogramms UNEP/WCMC zeigen: zwischen den Import- und Exportinformationen besteht eine enorme Diskrepanz. So teilen Exporteure zum Beispiel mit, 43 Prozent der Korallenfische stamme aus den Philippinen stammen. Die Importeure geben hingegen an, bei 81 Prozent der Importe nicht zu wissen, woher die Fische kommen.

Lediglich bei den Steinkorallen, Schwarzen Korallen und den Mördermuscheln gibt es genauere Zahlen. Sie sind durch das Abkommen zum Handel mit bedrohten Arten CITES nur mit Einfuhr- und Ausfuhrpapieren handelbar.

Haendler_A_Hofford

Die Händler
Die meisten Händler behaupten, der Handel von Korallenfischen für die Aquarienhaltung habe keinen negativen Einfluss auf die Bestände.
Dies mag für das grösste Korallenriff der Welt stimmen, das australische Grosse Barriere Riff. Hier wird die Fischerei kontrolliert und die Fischhändler müssen Fangbewilligungen erwerben. Dies ist aber eine Ausnahme. Der zur Verfügung stehende Lebensraum, die Grösse des Korallenriffs und die verhältnismässig kleine Fischerei machen die Populationen weniger anfällig.

Nach dem Film “Findet Nemo” war die Nachfrage nach Anemonenfischen enorm gross. Im Osten von Australien wurden deshalb so viele Anemonenfische gefangen, dass sich gewisse Bestände seither nicht mehr erholt haben.

Für den Handel sind nicht unbedingt die häufigsten Arten interessant. Die Aquarienhalter wünschen vor allem seltene und speziell gefärbte Tiere.

Der grösste Händler Europas mit Sitz in Holland, preist die Tiere auf seiner Website an: „ … The animals are imported from 29 different regions across the globe. On a regular bases you will find many very rare and interesting species on our stock list“ („Die Tiere (Fische) stammen aus 29 unterschiedlichen Regionen der Welt. Sie werden regelmässig viele sehr seltene und interessante Arten auf unserer Liste finden“).