Motivation

My motivation for creating this website is simple:

Our coral reefs are under a massive threat and, according to the UN, they are among the most endangered environments on our planet. Coral reefs are not big rock gardens; besides corals, they shelter a myriad of other living species. – They are the only ones we have; once they are dead, they are gone forever.

There are many dangers threatening coral reefs, among them climate change, which increases the temperatures and the acidity level of our oceans. Corals react very sensitively to both these changes. They become bleached when water temperatures stay too high for too long, ultimately dying (a rise of +1 ° C over several weeks suffices). If the water becomes too acid, corals cannot build any calcite anymore (or it even starts to dissolve).

For this reason, my main concern lies in asking for the protection of coral reefs where personal an immediate action is possible: in commercial trading. The other problems will have to be solved on different levels.

In 1874 Ernst Haeckel said following about coral reefs: ‘You cannot truthfully describe them. You have to have experienced them in order to be able to appreciate them.’

I never forgot this phrase as the sight of an intact coral reef is truly the most beautiful thing I have ever experienced. I wish future generations will be able to admire coral reefs. An aquarium is no suitable substitute and cannot reproduce a coral reef as seen in the wild.

In February 2013 I received the environmental award ‘Trophée de femmes’ (3rd place) by the Yves Rocher Foundation. A big token of appreciation for my work.
www.yves-rocher-fondation.org

Press release (in German).


Monica Biondo and Director of the Environmental Foundation Yves Rocher Paris, Claude Fromageot

Motivation

Meine Beweggründe, diese Website zu erstellen sind einfach:

Unsere Korallenriffe sind stark bedroht. Sie gehören laut den neusten Untersuchungen der UNO zu den bedrohtesten Lebensräumen unseres Planeten. Korallenriffe sind keine toten Steingärten, sondern beherbergen nebst den Korallen Myriaden von Lebewesen. Sie sind die einzigen, die wir haben. Sterben sie aus, sind sie für immer verschwunden.

Es gibt viele Gefahren, welche die Korallenriffe bedrohen: Die Klimaveränderung heizt die Meere auf und lässt sie übersäuern. Sowohl auf einen Temperaturanstieg als auch auf eine Säurezunahme reagieren die Korallenriffe empfindlich. Sie bleichen bei zu hohen Temperaturen aus und sterben (1 Grad C zu warm über mehrere Wochen reicht aus). Wird das Wasser zu sauer, können die Korallen keinen Kalk mehr bilden, bzw. dieser löst sich auf.

Gerade deshalb ist es mir ein Anliegen, auch dort den Schutz von Korallenriffen zu fordern, wo sofort und konkret gehandelt werden kann: beim Handel. Andere Probleme werden auf anderen Ebenen angegangen.

Ernst Haeckel hat bereits 1874 gesagt: “Ein Korallenriff kann man nicht eigentlich beschreiben, man muss es erlebt haben, um es ganz zu würdigen.”

Diesen Satz habe ich nie wieder vergessen. Der Anblick eines intakten Korallenriffs ist wahrlich das schönste, das ich je erleben durfte. Ich möchte, dass auch Generationen nach mir Korallenriffe werden bewundern können. Ein Aquarium kann ein Korallenriff in keiner Weise widergeben.

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————

Im Februar 2013 erhielt ich den Umweltpreis “Trophée de femmes” (3. Platz) der Stiftung Yves Rocher. Einge grosse Wertschätzung meiner Arbeit.
www.yves-rocher-fondation.org

Hier finden Sie die Pressemeldung.


Monica Biondo und Claude Fromageot, Direktor der Umweltstiftung Yves Rocher, Paris